Join | Login




Decolonial Perspectives on the Psychological Study of Social Issues Webinar Series

Organized by the Readsura Decolonial Editorial Collective and hosted by SPSSI


Webinars in this series are free and open to everyone. Scroll down for information on how to register and for links to recordings.

 

ABOUT THIS WEBINAR SERIES


This webinar series ("Decolonial Approaches to the Psychological Study of Social Issues") features 15 presentations (organized into 5 installments) based on contributions to two special issues of the Journal of Social Issues (JSI) devoted to decolonial perspectives in/on psychology. The first two installments feature 6 presentations that consider the psychology of colonial violence. Decolonial approaches propose that colonial violence is not confined to the distant past (i.e., colonialism) but instead persists as coloniality: racialized ways of thinking and being that have their roots in colonial violence, are inherent in the Eurocentric modern order, and are inseparable from modern individualist development. An important implication is that colonial violence extends beyond physical space to psychological space, such that complete liberation requires forms of psychological decolonization. The last three installments feature 9 presentations that consider the coloniality of knowledge in hegemonic psychology. Researchers are not innocent bystanders observing effects of colonial violence from some neutral position. Instead, epistemic violence in psychology occurs via epistemic exclusion of racialized others from the knowledge production process, imperialist imposition of white-washed knowledge products as universal standards, pathologizing forms of explanation that construct racial others as deviants in light of white-washed standards (i.e., epistemological violence; Teo, 2010), and forms of harm (e.g., zero-point epistemology and individualist lifeways) associated with hegemonic psychology’s modern/colonial roots. An important implication is that a decolonial approach may require epistemic disobedience and refusal of the discipline of psychology.

The special issues of JSI on decolonial psychology are open access through the end of 2022. Read the first special issue here. Read the second special issue here

 

PREVIOUSLY RECORDED WEBINARS


THE PSYCHOLOGY OF COLONIAL VIOLENCE, I: Bodies and Space (Link to recording)
Wednesday, September 14, 2022 16:00 UTC (12:00 PM EDT, 9:00 AM PDT)
Convener/Discussant: Kopano Ratele
Presenters:

SCHEDULED WEBINARS


SPSSI will announce that registration is open for each of the webinars listed below through membership emails and through postings on our Twitter (www.twitter.com/spssi) and Facebook (www.facebook.com/spssi) pages. Links to register will also be posted to this page (www.spssi.org/decolonialperspectives) once registration opens.


THE PSYCHOLOGY OF COLONIAL VIOLENCE, II: The Coloniality of Modern Progress (Link to register)
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 16:00 UTC (12:00 PM EDT, 9:00 AM PDT)
Convener/Discussant: Kopano Ratele
Presenters:

Coloniality of Knowledge in Hegemonic Psychology, I: Rigor or Rigor Mortis? (Link to registration will appear here in the second week of October)
Thursday, October 27, 2022 16:00 UTC (12:00 PM EDT, 9:00 AM PDT)
Convener/Discussant: Glenn Adams
Presenters:

Coloniality of Knowledge in Hegemonic Psychology, II: Confronting Professional Discipline (Link to registration will appear here in early November)
Wednesday, November 16, 2022 16:00 UTC (11:00 AM EST, 8:00 AM PST)
Convener/Discussant: Shahnaaz Suffla
Presenters:

Coloniality of Knowledge in Hegemonic Psychology, III: Refusal and Epistemic Disobedience (Link to registration will appear here in mid-November)
Wednesday, December 07, 2022 16:00 UTC (11:00 AM EST, 8:00 AM PST)
Convener/Discussant: Geetha Reddy
Presenters: