Join | Login


   Early Career Scholars Column
   Jessica Salvatore, Chair

First things first: on behalf of the committee, I would like to congratulate Adam Fingerhut (Loyola Marymount University), winner of this year’s Michele Alexander Early Career Award for Scholarship and Service. This year we had an unusually large and also unusually strong applicant pool for the award.  Needless to say, we did not have an easy time choosing between a number of very impressive candidates who all embody excellence in both service and scholarship.  Adam has a truly staggering record of accomplishment on both fronts. Congratulations, Adam! 

Many of you may recall the one-day workshop that our committee hosted prior to the biennial conference in New Orleans. Those who attended in 2010 gave it very high marks; I feel I can say that because I was not involved with the planning, but the committee of two years ago really did a fantastic job.  Well, mark your calendars, because we have decided to hold a very similar workshop in Charlotte!  More information, including details about how to apply, will be available later this year.

There have been a number of changes in the makeup of the committee recently. A warm thank-you to outgoing chair Jeannetta Williams and outgoing member Michele Schlehofer, both longtime members who have put a lot of work into the committee over the past several years.  We now have six members who are all eager to hear how we can meet your needs as early-career scholars.  Please do not hesitate to contact me ( and I will pass feedback/suggestions on.  We would love to hear from you! 

Previous                                                     Contents                                                         Next