Join | Login

   SPSSI Award Recognition
   By Anila Balkissoon, SPSSI Program Director

Clara Mayo Grants
Michele Alexander Early Career Award

Fall 2012 Grants-In-Aid

SPSSI’s competitive Grants-In-Aid program supports scientific research in social problem areas related to the basic interests and goals of SPSSI and particularly those that are not likely to receive support from traditional sources. 

The Fall 2012 GIA selection committee consisted of Drs. Rachel Annunziation (Co-Chair), Carey Ryan (Co-Chair), Mandeep Dhami, Scott Eidelman, Janice Habarth, Ram Mahalingam, Lindsay Phillips, and Elizabeth Pinel.

For further details and eligibility requirements, visit the Grants-in-Aid Program page.

Congratulations to the following scholars who were awarded funding in the Fall round of 2012!

Andrew Case, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
More than Meets the Eye: Exploring a Black Cultural Center as a Counterspace for African American College Students.

Sara Douglass, Fordham University
Capacity and Perspective in Racial/Ethnic Teasing: A Daily Diary Study Examining Personal and Interpersonal Experiences among Adolescents and Emerging Adults.

David Doyle, Tulane University
Many Pathways to Impaired Mental Health: Testing a Dynamic Model of Acute Social Identity Threat among Gay Men.

Justina Grayman, New York University
Communication Strategies that Promote Collective Action.

Mary Joyce Juan, University of Minnesota
Intersections of Gender Identity and Racial/Ethnic Identity in the Face of Patriarchal Cultural Attitudes: Experiences of Women of Color.

Bernhard Leidner, University of Massachusetts Amherst
Understanding and Alleviating Competitive Victimhood.

Shantal Marshall, University of California at Los Angeles
They Can Multiply Like Rats: Vermin Metaphors of Illegal Immigrants Effects on Policy and Identity.

David Mendelsohn, Claremont Graduate University
Applying the Stereotype Content Model to Discriminatory Hiring Practices Involving Gay Male Applicants.

Amy Moors, University of Michigan
Stigma, Stress, and Social Support as Prenatal Predictors of Postpartum Physical and Mental Health Outcomes among Lesbian Parents.

Rebecca Neel, Arizona State University
“Expert in the Language of Fear”: Stigmatized Targets' Perception of Prejudice-Relevant Emotions.

Angela Pirlott, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Understanding Gay/Lesbian and Bisexual Men and Women's Sexual Prejudices.

Lisa Rosenthal, Yale University
Using Intersectionality to Understand Racial Disparities in Adverse Birth Outcomes.

Caitlin Smith, University of Southern California
Motivational Interviewing in a Program for Unemployed Young Adults without High School Diplomas: Exploring Client Language as a Mechanism of Change.

Jacqueline Smith, Yale University
Outgroup Emotion and the Boundaries of Appropriate Expression.

Kristie Thomas, Simmons College
Enhancing Survivors’ Wellbeing Through Program Evaluation: The Safety-Related Empowerment Study.


Fall 2012 Clara Mayo Grants

The Clara Mayo Grant Program was set up to support master's theses or pre-dissertation research on aspects of sexism, racism, or prejudice, with preference given to students enrolled in a terminal master’s program. Studies of the application of theory or the design of interventions or treatments to address these problems are welcomed. 

The Fall Clara Mayo Grants selection committee consisted of Drs. Kristin Lane (Co-Chair), Lauren Duncan (Co-Chair), and Brian Christens.

For more details, please visit the Clara Mayo Grants page.

Congratulations to the Fall 2012 Clara Mayo grant recipients:

Mason Burns, Purdue University
Prejudice Reduction Strategies and Their Effect on Interracial Interactions.

Eden Hennessey, Wilfrid Laurier University
Do Cultural Connections Affect Collective Action? Responses to Gender Discrimination Among Visible Minority Women.

Sheri LaDuke, East Tennessee State University
Stigma and Self-Compassion among Sexual Minorities.

David Miller, Northwestern University
How Does Removing Stereotype Threat Maximize Women’s Spatial Skills?


2012 Michele Alexander Early Career Award

The Michele Alexander Early Career Award was established in 2005 to recognize early career excellence in scholarship as well as in service in honor of Dr. Michele Alexander. The Early Career Scholars Committee is tasked with selecting the recipient. For more details, please visit the Alexander Award page.

Congratulations to our first-ever co-award winners, Dr. Brian Christens(University of Wisconsin–Madison) and Dr. Brett Stoudt(John Jay College of Criminal Justice). Please read about their accomplishments in the Early Career Scholars column.

<<   Contents   >>