Join | Login

2017 - 2019 SIPR Co-editor 

Naomi Ellemers, FBA (PhD, University of Groningen, 1991), is Distinguished University Professor at Utrecht University since 2015, and member of the external Supervisory Board of PwC in the Netherlands. She was employed as Professor of Social Psychology of the Organization at Leiden University 1999-2015.

Her research covers a range of topics in group processes and intergroup relations, aiming to understand how how group affiliations impact on individual behaviors. Her main areas of expertise are diversity and inclusion, an integrity and ethics at work, as represented by her most recent book on social inequality (together with Belle Derks, Félice van Nunspeet Daan Scheepers and Jojanneke van der Toorn, World of difference: A moral perspective on social inequality, Amsterdam University Press, 2017), and her monograph on the role of group norms and social identities in moral behavior (Morality and the regulation of social behavior: Groups as moral anchors, Routledge, 2017).

She has published over 180 peer-reviewed international articles, over 50 chapters, and 7 books, and actively reaches out to lay audiences, for instance with public lectures, media contributions and her Psychology Today Blog ‘Social Climates: How group memberships shape individual behavior’ ( As one of the main PI’s she leads a multidisciplinary research program on ‘sustainable cooperation’ (SCOOP, NWO Gravitation Grant,18.8 Million Euro). For more information on her research and other activities see:

Naomi is former Associate Editor of the British Journal of Social Psychology and of the Journal of Personality and Social Psychology. She is a member of the Editorial Board of the Annual Review of Psychology, and co-Chief Editor of Social Issues and Policy Review. She also served as Treasurer and President of the European Association of Social Psychology, and as Board member of the Social Science Research Council (NWO-MaGW).

Naomi was awarded the 1990 Jaspars Award, the 2008 Kurt Lewin Medal, and the 2017 Codol Medal by the European Association of Social Psychology. She received the first Award for women in science from the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW), and the Spinoza Award from the Dutch National Science Foundation (NWO), in 2010. She was elected member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) in 2011, Corresponding Fellow of the British Academy in 2014, and was elected to receive the Senior Career Contribution Award, from the APA Society for Personality and Social Psychology (Division 8) in 2018.