Join | Login

SPSSI Action Teaching Award

The Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues (SPSSI) has established an annual Action Teaching Award for high-impact teaching that contributes to peace, social justice, or sustainable living at the same time as it educates students. Specifically, the award will recognize an innovative and effective example of action teaching that addresses a pressing social issue such as climate change, immigration, human rights, income inequality, domestic violence, animal protection, or intergroup conflict.


Instructors who teach at any level of education are eligible to apply for the award, regardless of whether they are a member of SPSSI, live in the United States, or hold an advanced degree. The entry must be for a classroom activity, student assignment, field experience, or web-based resource—not for a course syllabus or class in general. Finally, to be considered for the award, the teaching item must fully completed (ideally, with an assessment of its impact).

Evaluation Criteria

Entries will be judged on originality, teaching effectiveness, and demonstrated impact with respect to one or more social issues. Applicants are strongly encouraged to include qualitative and/or quantitative evidence that the action teaching item was educational and meaningfully contributed to peace, social justice, and/or sustainable living. Please visit to see the format and content of previously successful award entries. 


The winner will receive an award certificate and $1,000 cash prize. A smaller award may also be given for entries receiving honorable mention.

The application should include:

Note: Please limit the description to 6 double-spaced typed pages using 12-point font and 1-inch margins.

Deadline for SubmissionMarch 15th, annually.


Apply online now!  Online submissions are the preferred method.  Applicants are limited to submitting five supporting files through the online portal.


The SPSSI Action Teaching Committee will let you know of its award decision by April 15. 

Past winners are here.