Join | Login

Printer friendly page

Results from the 2009 SPSSI President and Council Elections
from the 2009 Election Committee
Dan Perlman, Chair; Eugene Borgida, Tarika Daftary, Susan Fiske, Michele Schlehofer, and Sally Shumaker

SPSSI is pleased to announce the newly elected President-elect and Council members:  

James Jackson, Daniel Katz Distinguished University Professor of Psychology and Director of the Institute for Social Research, University of Michigan, was elected as President-elect.  He will be President-elect in 2009-2010, President in 2010-2011, and Past-President in 2011-2012. 

The four incoming members of Council, to serve September 1, 2009 through August 31, 2012, are:

Dominic AbramsUniversity of Kent

 Roberto González, Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile

Barbara GutekUniversity of Arizona

Astrid StückelbergerUniviversity of Geneva

Carey Ryan, Professor of Psychology, University of Nebraska at Omaha, will serve as an alternate during 2009-2010 to fill any vacant Council seats.  

Congratulations to all!

The Nominating Committee was delighted at the quality of the candidates who were willing to run for SPSSI offices, and would have been pleased no matter who was elected. Given the distribution of this year's votes, it is clear that the slate of candidates presented “approach-approach” conflicts for many voters. SPSSI wishes to extend a warm thanks to all who stood for office.  

The 2009 election is noteworthy in that it is the first time a majority of the incoming set of Council members is from outside the United States. This is consistent with SPSSI’s commitment, as stated in SPSSI’s current strategic plan, “to having an international, cross-cultural and diverse membership that informs SPSSI’s functioning as a Society.” The election also reflects the trend toward greater use of the internet: 97 percent of ballots were cast electronically. Just eight years ago, when electronic voting was first introduced, only 20 percent of participating members voted in this way.  

There is no election of a SPSSI representative for the American Psychological Association Council of Representatives planned for this year. Allen Omoto and Maureen O’Connor’s terms are continuing.

All SPSSI members are urged to vote in the 2010 election. SPSSI elections in the past have been decided by just one vote, so every vote counts! 

Previous Page                 Table of Contents                   Next Page