Join | Login

Printer friendly page

Clara Mayo Grant Recipients
by Wendy Williams, Selection Committee Chair

The mission of the SPSSI Clara Mayo Grant is to support masters' theses or pre-dissertation research that focuses on prejudice, with special attention to work that examines sexism or racism.  The fund is named for Professor Clara Mayo, a Past-President of SPSSI, and it was made possible by a bequest and gifts from the friends and family in her honor.  The Clara Mayo Grant Committee strives to choose winners who demonstrate excellence in their project purposes, theoretical rationale, research methodology, and analytic procedures. The 2008-2009 Clara Mayo Grant Committee was chaired by Wendy R. Williams (Marshall University) and included Ashby Plant (Florida State University) and Germaine Award (University of Texas at Austin).

There were five recipients for the Fall 2008 awards. They were:

Priyanka Carr (Stanford University) “Stereotype threat and inflexible perseverance” 

Laura Babbitt (Tufts University) “Framing matters: Situational influences on interracial interaction outcomes”

Christopher Beasley (Roosevelt University) “A proposal to evaluate a mass distribution “virtual” model for gay and lesbian speaker panels”

Laura Severence (University of Maryland) “Gender dynamics in negotiation: The role of biology as a moderator”

Krystle Woods (Michigan State University) “Sexual harassment across the color line: Experiences and outcomes of cross- vs. intra-racial sexual harassment among Black women”

Previous Page                 Table of Contents                   Next Page