Join | Login

Fall 2010 Grant & Award Announcements

Anila Balkissoon
SPSSI Administrative Coordinator


Spring 2010 Clara Mayo Grants Announced

The Clara Mayo Grant Program was set up to support masters’ theses or pre-dissertation research on aspects of sexism, racism, or prejudice, with preference given to students enrolled in a terminal master’s program. Studies of the application of theory or the design of interventions or treatments to address these problems are welcome.

The winners of SPSSI’s Clara Mayo Grants for the Spring 2010 competition are as follows: Tara Dennehy (San Francisco State University) for her proposal entitled “Psychological Essentialism and Stereotype Threat in Women in Mathematics”; Michael North (Princeton University) for his proposal entitled “A New Approach to Ageism: Succession, Identity, and Consumption”; Julia Scott (Indiana University) for her proposal entitled “The Perception and Management of Criminal Stigma:  A Comparison of Parolees and Probationers”; and Deborah Son (Princeton University) for her proposal entitled “Effects of Colorblindness and Multiculturalism in Interracial Interactions.”

The Spring 2010 selection committee consisted of Drs. Phil Hammack (Chair), University of California at Santa Cruz, Sara McClelland, University of Michigan, and David Frost, San Francisco State University.

 2010 Applied Social Issues Internship Award Winners

This program was set up to encourage young scholars’ research to be conducted in cooperation with a community or government organization, public interest group or other not-for-profit entity that will benefit directly from the project.

The winners of SPSSI’s Applied Social Issues Internship Award for the 2010 competition are as follows: Diamond Bravo (California State University, Northridge) for a project entitled “ ‘Kids with Cameras’ and ‘Charting College-Prep Coursework’: Using Cultural Inclusion Strategies to Promote School Connection and Engagement Among At-Risk High School Students”; Sahana Mukherjee (University of Kansas) for a project entitled “ ‘Truth alone triumphs?’ Role of history education and language in the construction of Indian national identity”; Victoria Springer (University of Nevada, Reno) for a project entitled “Does Judicial Disagreement with Sentencing Recommendations Reflect Offender Subtyping? Exploring Issues of Equity in Sentencing based on the Use of Information Included in and Excluded from the PSIR” and Adam Voight (Vanderbilt University) for a project entitled “Youth Participatory Action Research as a Mediator of Youth and Community Development. 

The 2010 selection committee consisted of Drs. Ronni Greenwood, University of Limerick (Chair), Aisling O’Donnell, University of Limerick, and Dana Martin, Penn State, Brandywine.

 2010 SAGES Awards Announced

The SAGES Program was created to encourage our age 60 and over and retired members to apply their knowledge to helping solve social problems or to assist policy makers to solve social problems. Proposals are invited that use social science research findings to address social problems through direct action projects, consulting with not-for-profit groups, or through preparing reviews of existing social science literature that could be used by policy makers.

The winners of SPSSI’s Action Grants for Experienced Scholars for the 2010 competition are as follows: Dr. Rupert J. Brown (University of Sussex) for a proposal entitled “Assisting a fraught community: an extended contact intervention to reduce prejudice in young children”; and Dr. Olivia Espin (San Diego State University) for a proposal entitled “Theater as a Pedagogical Shortcut to Encourage the Adaptation of Immigrant Girls to their New Environment.”

The 2010 selection Committee consisted of Drs. Frances Cherry, University of Carleton (Chair), Warren Thorngate, University of Carleton, and Beth Shinn, Vanderbilt University. 

 2010 Social Issues Dissertation Award Announced

The winners of SPSSI’s Social Issues Dissertation Award for the 2010 competition are as follows: First Prize was awarded to Dr. Kristin Pauker (Stanford University) for her submission “Not So Black and White: The Impact of Motivation on Memory for Racially Ambiguous Faces.”  Second Prize was awarded to Dr. Todd Andrew (Northwestern University) for his submission “Combating Contemporary Racial Biases: On the Virtues of Perspective Taking.”

The Social Issues Dissertation Award established to encourage excellence in socially relevant research.  The prizes awarded to the dissertations that best demonstrate scientific excellence and potential application to social problems.

The 2010 selection Committee consisted of Drs. Lisa Lockhart, University of the Incarnate Word (Chair),  Elizabeth Page-Gould (University of Toronto at Scarborough), David Amodio (New York University), and Jennifer Richeson (Northwestern University).     

Congratulations to these shcolars!

Previous Page                                      Contents Page                                                Next Page